listen

“Listen. What can you hear?” she whispered.

three

            two

                   one

I told her there was nothing there.

 three

            two

                   one

“No. Wait. Listen,” she said. I was worried she was getting too scared. I love her and I wanted her to feel safe.

I kept quiet and looked at her – searching for signs of fear and hints of hesitation. It wasn’t like this was her first time to stay over. What was bothering her? 

“Oh that’s probably the neighbor’s cat,” I exclaimed.

three

            two

                   one

“Probably the booze,” she said, and smiled at me.

one

      two

            three . . . 

months have passed.

I lie here no longer waiting for you to come back. And I hear everything.

(the branches creaking with the wind. my heart missing a beat. the cat escaping. the minute hand mocking me.

the clinking sound of  my half-empty vodka bottle and my unwashed glass.)

“Must be the booze,” I whispered.

イサベラ👻

Leave a Reply

